songs for the young at heart

Limited ‘children’s book’ CD & regular CD
UK release date: 26th February 2007
Label: V2
CD cat no: VVR1042142
Ltd CD cat no: VVR1042148

album credits

the magical ‘songs for the young at heart’ website is here

Uncle Sigmund’s Clockwork Storybook – sung by Robert Forster
Florence’s Sad Song – sung by Stuart Murdoch
White Horses – sung by Cerys Matthews
The Lion and Albert – told by Jarvis Cocker
Hushabye Mountain – sung by Stuart A. Staples
Morningtown Ride – sung by Suzanne Osborne
Inchworm – sung by Kurt Wagner
Puff the Magic Dragon – sung by Bonnie ‘Prince’ Billy and Red
The 3 Sneezes – read by Martin Wallace
Hey, Don’t You Cry – sung by Stuart A. Staples

Fiona Hibbert played the Harp
Tricky Guitar by Andy Watts
Wasy Guitar and Fireman’s Bell by Stuart
Electric Guitar and Brushes on ‘White Horses’ by Neil Fraser
Banjo on ‘Morningtown Ride’ by Rick Weller
Gina Foster sang the ‘oohs’ on the sad part of ‘Puff’
Triangle on ‘Hey Don’t You Cry’ played by Stuart and Andy
The Children of Ladywell sang
The Strings were arranged with Lucy Wilkins and the Violins were played by Lucy, Chris Koh, Calina de la Mare and Louise Peacock
Sarah Wilson and Andy Nice played the Cellos

Arrangements and all other instruments by David Boulter

Recorded at Lucky Dog, London and David’s home in Prague
Cerys, Kurt, Bonnie ‘Prince’ Billy and Red’s singing were recorded by Mark Nevers at The Beach House, Nashville

Mixed by Stuart, Philip Bagenal and Ian Caple at Eastcote Studios, London
Produced by Stuart A Staples
Artwork by Sexton Ming

← ‘recordings’

  • songs for the young at heart

  • Theme for the Young at Heart
  • Uncle Sigmund’s Clockwork Storybook
  • Florence’s Sad Song
  • White Horses
  • The Lion and Albert
  • Robinson Crusoe
  • Hushabye Mountain
  • Morningtown Ride
  • Inchworm
  • Mary, Mungo & Midge
  • Puff the Magic Dragon
  • The 3 Sneezes
  • Hey, Don’t You Cry