2 x 12″ 45rpm vinyl and CD
UK release date: 24th june 1997
Label: This Way Up
LP cat no: WAY 524 344-1
CD cat no: WAY 524 344-2
Double 45rpm vinyl limited to 5,000 copies
2CD remaster – June 2004, Island/Universal, 981 689-3

curtains band

album credits

Recorded at:
Angel Studios London 8th – 21st July ’96 by Ian Caple & tindersticks
Eastcote Studios London 15th – 20th August & 5th – 6th October by tindersticks & Craig Chettle
Searsound, New York 23rd – 24th August by John Siket
Mixed at:
Windmill Studios, Dublin 27th August – 7th September by tindersticks assisted by Ciarah Cahill & Pierce Room London 8th-10th & 26th 27th October & 3rd November by tindersticks with Craig Chettle
Mastered by Tim Young at Metropolis, London

String arrangements by Dickon
Conducted by Rosie Lindsell
Violins – Lucy Wilkins, Paul Medd, Charles Nancarraw, Caroline Luckhurst, Dmitri Van Zwanenberg, Becky Doe, Calina de la Mare, Ted Wood, Jonathan Acton, Howard Gott, Chris Koh, Ruth Gottlieb, Victoria Evans & Susannah Marsden
Violas – Ann Child, Becca Ware, Rob Spriggs, Harvey Brown & Sophie Sirota
Cellos – Sarah Willson, Anna Chalmers & Oliver Kraus
Double Bass – Lucy Shaw
Brass arrangements by Jesus Alemañy
Trumpet – Jesus Alemañy
Trombone/Flute – Joe de Jesus
Tenor Sax – Lisa Graham
Bongos – David Patman

Duet on Buried Bones sung with Ann Magnuson

remaster credits

tindersticks are Dave Boulter, Mark Colwill, Neil Fraser, Dickon Hinchliffe, Alastair Macaulay and Stuart Staples
Cover Art by Suzanne Osborne and Stuart Staples
Layout at Youngs Design
Digitally Remastered by Tim Young at Metropolis
Project Co-ordination for Universal by Joe Black
Tape Research by Zoe Roberts at the Universal Tape Facility

Thanks to Dave Bedford, Paul Reidy, Claire Sugrue and Ian Youngs

← ‘recordings’

  • curtains

  • side 1
  • Another Night In
  • Rented Rooms
  • Don’t Look Down
  • side 2
  • Dick’s Slow Song
  • Fast One
  • Ballad Of Tindersticks
  • Dancing
  • side 3
  • Lets Pretend
  • Desperate Man
  • Buried Bones
  • Bearsuit
  • side 4
  • (Tonight) Are You Trying To Fall In Love Again?
  • I Was Your Man
  • Bathtime
  • Walking
  • A Marriage Made In Heaven – bonus track on the US/Canadian CD

  • 2004 remaster disc 2
    singles and b-Sides
  • Bathtime
  • Paco’s Theme
  • Shadow
  • Manalow
  • Rented Rooms (single version)
  • Rented Rooms (swing version)
  • Make Believe
  • A Marriage Made In Heaven
  • For Those… (orchestral version)